Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. Humanoids
  3. Open source
Listing · open source

Open-source humanoid robots

34 of the 218 tracked humanoid robots publish design or software files: 1 the hardware design (CAD and a bill of materials) under a named licence, 19 a simulation model (URDF or MJCF) and 14 an SDK only. Licences were read from each repository on 29 Oct 2026: 16 permissive, 7 share-alike, 1 non-commercial, 1 under other terms, 2 without a licence file and 7 published on documentation pages without a licence. 7 of these robots can be ordered from the maker at a published price, the lowest at $4,900 (Unitree R1).

Licences checked 29 Oct 2026Hardware design 1Simulation model 19SDK only 14Which of them you can order

Three levels of openness

Hardware design (CAD + BOM) · 1

CAD source files and a bill of materials are published, with a licence that covers the hardware. You can rebuild or modify the robot within the licence terms.

For example: Shanghai RoboParty ROBOTO Origin.

Simulation model (URDF / MJCF) · 19

A robot description (URDF or MJCF) loads the robot into simulators such as MuJoCo, Isaac or Gazebo. A complete hardware design (CAD and BOM) is not published.

For example: AeiROBOT Alice, AgiBot X2, Booster T1.

SDK only · 14

A software development kit to program the robot. No design files and no simulation model are published.

For example: Aldebaran NAO6, EngineAI PM01, isento pib.Pro.

Level
Licence
Price
Humanoid robots with published CAD and bill of materials, simulation model or SDK: level, files, licence, price and check date
Published filesRepository / checked
Shanghai RoboParty ROBOTO OriginShanghai RoboParty · CNCAD + BOMCADRoboparty/rpo_hardwareBOMRoboparty/rpo_hardwareSDKRoboparty/roboto_originCERN-OHL-W 2.0Share-alike · SDK: GPL 3.0Not published
29 Oct 2026
AeiROBOT AliceAeiROBOT · KRURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFeng.arobot4all.comDocumentation pageno licence on the pageQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
AgiBot X2AgiBot · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFAgibotTech/agibot_x2_urdfMulan PSL v2Permissive$25,600
29 Oct 2026
Booster T1Booster · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFBoosterRobotics/booster_assetsBSD 3-ClausePermissiveNot published
29 Oct 2026
Fourier GR-1Fourier · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFFFTAI/Wiki-GRx-ModelsGPL 3.0Share-alikeNot published
29 Oct 2026
Fourier GR-2Fourier · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFFFTAI/Wiki-GRx-ModelsGPL 3.0Share-alikeQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Fourier GR-3Fourier · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFFFTAI/Wiki-GRx-ModelsGPL 3.0Share-alikeQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Fourier N1Fourier · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFFFTAI/Wiki-GRx-ModelsSDKfftai.github.ioGPL 3.0Share-alike · SDK: documentation pageQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Generative Bionics GENE.01Generative Bionics · ITURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFgbionics/gb-robot-modelsCC BY-NC 4.0Non-commercialNot published
29 Oct 2026
LimX LunaLimX · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFlimxdynamics/luna-descriptionApache 2.0Permissive¥298,000≈ $44,702
29 Oct 2026
MenloAI Asimov 1MenloAI · SGURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFmenloresearch/asimov-1SDKdocs.menlo.aiCERN-OHL-S 2.0Share-alike · SDK: documentation pageHardware under CERN-OHL-S-2.0 (HARDWARE-LICENSE.txt), software under GPL-2.0 (SOFTWARE-LICENSE.txt); the README does not say which covers the simulation modelMechanical and electrical CAD (STEP) published under CERN-OHL-S-2.0 (HARDWARE-LICENSE.txt); the bill of materials is sent by email on request, not published in the repository.$20,000
29 Oct 2026
PAL REEM-CPAL · ESURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFpal-robotics/reemc_robotSDKwiki.ros.orgNo licence filereuse terms not stated · SDK: documentation pageQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
PNDbotics AdamPNDbotics · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFpndbotics/pnd_modelsSDKpndbotics/pnd_sdk_pythonBSD 3-ClausePermissive · SDK: no licence fileNot published
29 Oct 2026
ROBOTIS AI WorkerROBOTIS · KRURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFROBOTIS-GIT/ai_workerSDKROBOTIS-GIT/ai_workerApache 2.0Permissive · SDK: Apache 2.0$60,000
29 Oct 2026
Shanghai RoboParty ROBOTO 01Shanghai RoboParty · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFRoboparty/rp1_descriptionSDKRoboparty/roboparty_deployNo licence filereuse terms not stated · SDK: GPL 3.0Quoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
UBTECH Walker S2UBTECH · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFUBTECH-Robot/WalkerS2-ModelOpenAtom Open Hardware Licence 0.4.3Other termsQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Unitree G1Unitree · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFunitreerobotics/unitree_rosSDKunitreerobotics/unitree_sdk2BSD 3-ClausePermissive · SDK: BSD 3-Clause$13,500–21,500
29 Oct 2026
Unitree H1Unitree · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFunitreerobotics/unitree_rosSDKunitreerobotics/unitree_sdk2BSD 3-ClausePermissive · SDK: BSD 3-ClauseQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Unitree H2Unitree · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFunitreerobotics/unitree_mujocoSDKunitreerobotics/unitree_sdk2BSD 3-ClausePermissive · SDK: BSD 3-Clause$29,900not orderable 29 Oct 2026
29 Oct 2026
Unitree R1Unitree · CNURDF / MJCFURDF / MJCFunitreerobotics/unitree_mujocoSDKunitreerobotics/unitree_sdk2BSD 3-ClausePermissive · SDK: BSD 3-Clause$4,900–10,500
29 Oct 2026
Aldebaran NAO6Aldebaran · FRSDK onlySDKmaxtronics.comDocumentation pageno licence on the pageQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
EngineAI PM01EngineAI · CNSDK onlySDKengineai-robotics/engineai_ros2_workspaceBSD 3-ClausePermissiveNot published
29 Oct 2026
isento pib.Proisento · DESDK onlySDKpib-rocks/pib-sdkAGPL 3.0Share-alikeREADME says MIT; the LICENSE file is AGPL-3.0Not published
29 Oct 2026
K-Scale K-BotK-Scale · USSDK onlySDKkscalelabs/kbotMITPermissiveREADME says the software is GPL v3; the LICENSE file is MIT; hardware: LICENSE-HW (CERN-OHL-S)CAD published on Onshape under CERN-OHL-S (LICENSE-HW); no bill of materials found in the repository.Not published
29 Oct 2026
Noetix BumiNoetix · CNSDK onlySDKNoetix-Robotics/noetix_sdk_bumiBSD 3-ClausePermissiveQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Noetix E1Noetix · CNSDK onlySDKweb.noetixrobotics.comDocumentation pageno licence on the pageQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Noetix N2Noetix · CNSDK onlySDKNoetix-Robotics/noetix_sdk_n2BSD 3-ClausePermissiveQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
PAL ARIPAL · ESSDK onlySDKwiki.ros.orgDocumentation pageno licence on the pageQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
PAL TALOSPAL · ESSDK onlySDKwiki.ros.orgDocumentation pageno licence on the pageQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Pollen Reachy 2Pollen · FRSDK onlySDKpollen-robotics/reachy2-sdkApache 2.0PermissiveQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Rainbow RB-Y1Rainbow · KRSDK onlySDKRainbowRobotics/rby1-sdkApache 2.0PermissiveQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
ROBOTIS OP3ROBOTIS · KRSDK onlySDKemanual.robotis.comDocumentation pageno licence on the page$13,764.35
29 Oct 2026
UBTECH YansheeUBTECH · CNSDK onlySDKyandev.ubtrobot.comDocumentation pageno licence on the pageNot published
29 Oct 2026
Unitree H2 PlusUnitree · CNSDK onlySDKunitreerobotics/unitree_sdk2BSD 3-ClausePermissiveQuoteno list price
29 Oct 2026
Licence types:Permissive — MIT, BSD, Apache 2.0, Mulan PSL v2·Share-alike — GPL, AGPL, CERN-OHL-S/W, CC BY-SA·Non-commercial — CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-SA
Prices

Prices and availability are collected from vendor pages and public sources on the date shown; they change without notice. Verify with the vendor before purchase. Details

Open hardware designs without a database card

Research projects that publish a full hardware design: CAD, a bill of materials and a hardware licence. They have no card in the robot database, so the rows list only what each repository publishes, checked on 29 Oct 2026.

Open hardware humanoid designs: CAD, bill of materials, hardware and code licences, simulation files and last update
ProjectCAD / BOMHardware licenceCode licenceLast updateRepository / checked
Berkeley Humanoid LitePaper · URDF / MJCF publishedCAD · BOMCC BY-SA 4.0Share-alikeMIT10 Mar 2026
29 Oct 2026
ToddlerBotPaper · URDF / MJCF publishedCAD · BOMCC BY-NC-SA 4.0Non-commercialMIT31 Jul 2026
29 Oct 2026

Berkeley Humanoid Lite: Robot description files (URDF, MJCF, USD) in the assets repository; CAD on Onshape and BOM linked from the release page. ToddlerBot: The design (Onshape document, STL files) is released under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 according to the README; the code under MIT (LICENSE).

How openness and licences are checked

  1. A robot is listed when its maker publishes an SDK, a robot description for simulators, or design files, and links to them from an official page or repository.
  2. The level is the highest one with evidence: CAD + BOM needs CAD source files, a bill of materials and a licence that covers the hardware, all published; CAD without a published bill of materials does not count. URDF / MJCF needs a published robot description. Otherwise the robot is SDK only.
  3. The licence is read from the repository's own licence file; where a README states different terms, both are shown. A repository without a licence file is marked “no licence file”: its reuse terms are not stated. SDK documentation hosted on a maker's website carries no licence file.
  4. Each row links to the files and the licence; all were checked on 29 Oct 2026. Prices come from the same records as the price registry.

A licence describes what the files allow; it is not legal advice, and third-party parts inside a repository keep their own terms. How Robopear verifies data · sources and licences.

Humanoids you can order today with a budget filter: humanoid robots for sale. Also: Chinese humanoid robots · humanoid robot prices · all humanoid robots.